Members Login

 

TITLE: Scots on the move: internal and external migration

DATE: Saturday 30 July 2016

TIME:  9.30 for 10am start to 3.30pm           

LOCATION: GSV Meeting Room, Level B1 / 257 Collins Street, Melbourne

COST: GSV Members $40.00 and Non-members $80.00

BOOKINGS: Booking with payment is essential. Make payment through the GSV Online shop or at the GSV reception.

CANCELLATION: Refunds will only be given if cancellation is made five working days before the start of this lecture.

SPEAKERS and TOPICS:

Joy Roy ‘Scottish Emigration: Opportunity, Expectations and Outcomes’ Exploring why the Scots left to embrace a new lifestyle in many and varied lands.

Malcolm Horsburgh ‘Scots on the Make’ which revolves around how internal migration was used to achieve a better economic outcome through an improvement in status.

Carlene Catramados-‘Irish Migration to Scotland’

Susan McLean-‘The Long Sea Voyage from Passenger Diaries’

CLASS SIZE: Minimum number of bookings required for this course

PLACES: Limited to 40 places.

 

Upcoming Events

Tue 31 May 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
ScotlandsPeople™ online
Wed 01 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
Starting Family History
Wed 01 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
GSV Writers Circle
Thu 02 Jun 16 @ 12.00PM- 01.00PM
Policing Colonial Victoria - Stuart Duff
Thu 02 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
FamilySearch™ online
Tue 07 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
The National Archives (UK) online
Wed 08 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
DNA Discussion Circle
Wed 08 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 02.00PM
South West England Research & Discussion Circle
Thu 09 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
GSV library catalogue & databases - tips
Mon 13 Jun 16 @
Closed - Public Holiday
Tue 14 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Durham, Northumberland & Cumberland Discussion Circle
Tue 14 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Australian BDM indexes via Digger ™ and online
Wed 15 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
National Archives for Scotland, Ireland & Wales online
Thu 16 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Internet for genealogy: an introduction
Sat 18 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.30PM
Orientation Morning - Introduction to the Society and Research Basics