Members Login

GSV Library Catalogue 

Search now if you are an experienced user

How to Search the Library Catalogue

Type in one or more words in the boxes for one or more of the categories as listed below.

TOPIC searches titles and subjects.

AUTHOR searches authors, compilers, editors etc.

CALL NUMBER searches for Dewey Decimal system numbers, microfiche, microfilm, computer, Internet, webcast, map, article etc.

TIPS

    • Be specific.
    • Frequently one word in one box is sufficient eg surname or name of village or town.
    • Use an asterisk (*) to include all word endings eg cemet* for cemetery or cemeteries.
    • Use quote marks for a phrase eg "History of Ballarat"
    • It is possible to refine a search by clicking on the boxes to the left of the chosen field to display OR or NOT. Boolean searches are also available within the chosen field. Use OR for an alternative eg Ballarat OR Bendigo. Use space and hyphen [ -] for NOT eg Ballarat -gold

Catalogue (Guests)

Members to use the full catalogue please login first

Upcoming Events

Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
The National Archives (UK) online
Wed 02 Sep 15 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
Starting Family History
Wed 02 Sep 15 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
GSV Writers Circle
Thu 03 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
FamilySearch™ online
Fri 04 Sep 15 @ 10.00AM- 04.00PM
GSV Research Workshop
Sat 05 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 03.30PM
Descendants of Convicts
Tue 08 Sep 15 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Durham, Northumberland & Cumberland Discussion Circle
Tue 08 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Australian BDM indexes via Digger ™
Wed 09 Sep 15 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
DNA Discussion Circle
Wed 09 Sep 15 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Cornwall Discussion Circle
Thu 10 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
GSV library catalogue & databases - tips
Sat 12 Sep 15 @ 10.30AM- 11.30AM
Death & Dying in Australia Coburg Cemetery - David Down
Sun 13 Sep 15 @ 01.00PM- 04.00PM
Using Ancestry Databases
Tue 15 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Ancestry™ online
Wed 16 Sep 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
National Archives for Scotland, Ireland & Wales online