Members Login

GSV Library Catalogue 

Search now if you are an experienced user

How to Search the Library Catalogue

Type in one or more words in the boxes for one or more of the categories as listed below.

TOPIC searches titles and subjects.

AUTHOR searches authors, compilers, editors etc.

CALL NUMBER searches for Dewey Decimal system numbers, microfiche, microfilm, computer, Internet, webcast, map, article etc.


    • Be specific.
    • Frequently one word in one box is sufficient eg surname or name of village or town.
    • Use an asterisk (*) to include all word endings eg cemet* for cemetery or cemeteries.
    • Use quote marks for a phrase eg "History of Ballarat"
    • It is possible to refine a search by clicking on the boxes to the left of the chosen field to display OR or NOT. Boolean searches are also available within the chosen field. Use OR for an alternative eg Ballarat OR Bendigo. Use space and hyphen [ -] for NOT eg Ballarat -gold

Catalogue (Guests)

Members to use the full catalogue please login first

Upcoming Events

Thu 26 Nov 15 @ 12.00PM- 01.00PM
The war to end wars - Researching your Australian ancestors in WW1 - Lt. Col. Neil Smith
Thu 26 Nov 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
All online Australian archives, National and State
Fri 27 Nov 15 @ 10.00AM- 04.00PM
GSV Research Workshop
Sat 28 Nov 15 @ 10.30AM- 01.30PM
London Library Research Day
Sat 28 Nov 15 @ 01.00PM- 03.00PM
Scottish Ancestry Group
Tue 01 Dec 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
The National Archives (UK) online
Wed 02 Dec 15 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
Starting Family History
Wed 02 Dec 15 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
GSV Writers Circle
Thu 03 Dec 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
FamilySearchâ„¢ online
Tue 08 Dec 15 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Durham, Northumberland & Cumberland Discussion Circle
Tue 08 Dec 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Australian BDM indexes via Digger â„¢
Wed 09 Dec 15 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
DNA Discussion Circle
Thu 10 Dec 15 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
GSV library catalogue & databases - tips
Fri 25 Dec 15 @
Closed - Public Holiday
Sat 26 Dec 15 @
Closed - Public Holiday