Members Login

GSV Library Catalogue 

Search now if you are an experienced user

How to Search the Library Catalogue

Type in one or more words in the boxes for one or more of the categories as listed below.

TOPIC searches titles and subjects.

AUTHOR searches authors, compilers, editors etc.

CALL NUMBER searches for Dewey Decimal system numbers, microfiche, microfilm, computer, Internet, webcast, map, article etc.

TIPS

    • Be specific.
    • Frequently one word in one box is sufficient eg surname or name of village or town.
    • Use an asterisk (*) to include all word endings eg cemet* for cemetery or cemeteries.
    • Use quote marks for a phrase eg "History of Ballarat"
    • It is possible to refine a search by clicking on the boxes to the left of the chosen field to display OR or NOT. Boolean searches are also available within the chosen field. Use OR for an alternative eg Ballarat OR Bendigo. Use space and hyphen [ -] for NOT eg Ballarat -gold

Catalogue (Guests)

Members to use the full catalogue please login first

Upcoming Events

Tue 31 May 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
ScotlandsPeople™ online
Wed 01 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
Starting Family History
Wed 01 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
GSV Writers Circle
Thu 02 Jun 16 @ 12.00PM- 01.00PM
Policing Colonial Victoria - Stuart Duff
Thu 02 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
FamilySearch™ online
Tue 07 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
The National Archives (UK) online
Wed 08 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
DNA Discussion Circle
Wed 08 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 02.00PM
South West England Research & Discussion Circle
Thu 09 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
GSV library catalogue & databases - tips
Mon 13 Jun 16 @
Closed - Public Holiday
Tue 14 Jun 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Durham, Northumberland & Cumberland Discussion Circle
Tue 14 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Australian BDM indexes via Digger ™ and online
Wed 15 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
National Archives for Scotland, Ireland & Wales online
Thu 16 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Internet for genealogy: an introduction
Sat 18 Jun 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.30PM
Orientation Morning - Introduction to the Society and Research Basics